Africa EENI Global Business School

Trade in Benin, Porto-Novo, Cotonou

Foreign Trade and Business in Benin, Cotonou, Porto-Novo, Abomey, Fon

Benin is a West African country

  1. Total Beninese population: 10.7 million inhabitants
  2. The political capital of Benin is Porto-Novo (Xogbonou in Goun)
  3. The economic capital of Benin is Cotonou
  4. The Beninese historical capital is Abomey
  5. Abomey-Calavi is the second most populated Beninese city (Atlantic Department)
  6. Kétou (Plateau Department)
  7. Parakou (Borgou Department)
  8. Djougou (Donga Department)
  9. The Beninese democracy is very consolidated
  10. Benin has an important informal cross-border trade with Nigeria
  11. The Currency of Benin is the CFA Franc
  12. Benin share borders (2,123 kilometres) with Burkina Faso (386 kilometres), Nigeria (809 kilometres, Lagos), Niger (277 kilometres) and Togo (651 kilometres)

Study a Master / Doctorate in Global Business at EENI Global Business School

Foreign Trade and Business in Benin (Exports) Benin

Enrol, study online and receive your European Diploma

  1. Masters: Business in Africa, Transport in Africa, Foreign Trade, International Business
  2. Doctorates: African Business, World Trade, Global Logistics

Benin (Master Business) Benin

More information: Business in Benin, at EENI Website.

Business in Benin: trade with Nigeria, Cotonou Porto Novo (Foreign Trade)


Tell a Friend:

/ Send us a WhatsApp / Contact by Phone / Print this page /
Return to the previous page Back
  1. Official language of Benin: French
  2. African languages of Benin are Fon (44% of the Beninese population), Yoruba (14%), Goun, Mina, Adja and Bariba
  3. Total Beninese area: 114.763 km²
  4. Calling code of Benin: 229
  5. Beninese code top-level domain: .bj

Study in West Africa (Master, Doctorate, Business) Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, the Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, and Togo

Regions of the Republic of Benin

The Republic of Benin is composed of twelve departments:

  1. Alibori
  2. Atacora
  3. Atlantic
  4. Borgou
  5. Collines
  6. Couffo
  7. Donga
  8. Littoral (Cotonou)
  9. Mono
  10. Ouémé
  11. Plateau
  12. Zou

Foreign Trade and Business in Benin (Exports)

Trade Organisations (Benin)

  1. WAEMU
  2. U.S.-WAEMU Agreement
  4. Niger Basin Authority
  5. CEN-SAD
  6. OHADA
  7. Global System of Trade Preferences

West African Economic and Monetary Union WAEMU/ UEMOA: Benin, Burkina Faso, Ivory Coast, Mali, Niger, Senegal, and Togo

  1. African Union
  3. Economic Commission for Africa
  4. African Development Bank

Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone...

Transport and Logistics in Benin

Access to the Dakar-Lagos Corridor

Railway loop: Benin-Niger-Burkina Faso-Ivory Coast

  1. Malanville, Kandi, Parakou, Porto-Novo, Cotonou

Benin-Niger-Burkina Faso-Ivory Coast Railway Loop
Source: Commodafrica


  1. Route: Ouagadougou (Burkina Faso)-Cotonou (Benin)
  2. Route RNIE2: Cotonou, Porto-Novo, Parakou, Kandi, Niger

Port of Cotonou:

Port of Cotonou, Benin. Access to Burkina Faso, Mali, and Niger. Maritime Transport Course

Religion in Benin:

  1. Sunni Islam (28% of the Beninese population)
  2. African Traditional Religions
  3. Voodoo
  4. Christianity
  5. Benin is a Secular State (Constitution of 1990)

Main Beninese Ethnicities:

  1. Fon (39% of the Beninese population, South of Benin)
  2. Adja (15% of the Beninese population)
  3. Yoruba (12%)
  4. Bariba (9%)
  5. Other ethnicities: Fula (7%), Batammariba and  Dendi

The leopard in the Kingdom of Benin is the animal related to the King (Oba) (Source: Jesús Arjona Muñoz, African Art Exhibition: “The Animal, A Sacred Symbol”)
Bronze King (Oba) Benin

History of Benin

  1. 14th Century: Kingdoms Aja-Ewé
  2. 16th Century: Bariba Kingdoms and Kingdom of Nikki (North of Benin)
  3. Yoruba Kingdoms (East of Benin)
    1. Kingdom of Shabê-Okpa and Kingdom of Kétou
  4. 1645: Kingdom of Dahomey
  5. Independence from France: August 1960 (Republic of Dahomey)
  6. 1975: People's Republic of Benin (Communist, Mathieu Kérékou)
  7. 1990: Republic of Benin
  8. World Heritage:
    1. The Royal Palaces of Abomey
    2. The Complex W-Arly-Pendjari

Higher Education in Benin

2012: LMD System (Bachelor, Master, Doctorate) - Beninese Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research

100,000 Higher Education Students

  1. University of Abomey-Calavi
  2. University of Parakou
  3. National University of Sciences, Technologies, Engineering and Mathematics (UNSTIM) - Cotonou
  4. National University of Agriculture (UNA) - Kétou

Benin is a member of the African and Malagasy Council for Higher Education (CAMES)

French (Master International Business, Foreign Trade) Bénin Study, Master, Global Business, Foreign Trade, Portuguese Benim Study a Master International Business in Spanish Benín

(c) EENI Global Business School We do not use cookies